Driving Without a Valid License
All drivers in Virginia are required by law to be licensed by Virginia or another state or country. If you drive without being validly licensed, you can be charged with a Class 2 Misdemeanor offense, which is punishable by a jail sentence of up to 6 months, a $1000 fine, or a suspension of your driving privilege. An attorney can often help you to avoid a conviction if you are eligible to get licensed, and if not, an attorney can help you to avoid jail time and additional license suspensions.
Driving With a Suspended License
If your driver’s license has been suspended, either by the courts or by the Department of Motor Vehicles, driving is a Class 1 Misdemeanor. Driving on a Suspended License is an offense that both prosecutors and judges take seriously, as it is often done in violation of a court order. In many cases, drivers are not aware that their license is suspended because they did not receive proper notice of the suspension from the Department of Motor Vehicles or the Court. In those cases, it may be possible to avoid a conviction entirely. If you are charged with Driving with a Suspended License, we would be happy to talk to you about your case and give you advice about what to do next.
Driving With A Revoked License (§18.2-272)
If you are convicted of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), your license is automatically suspended for one year. If you drive during that suspension, you can be charged with Driving with a Revoked License. If you are convicted of Driving on a Revoked License, the DMV will automatically suspend your driving privilege for one year and there is no restricted license available. This offense is also often punished with a jail sentence and/or a fine. Driving with a Revoked License is a serious offense that requires the assistance of a lawyer. We handle cases like these regularly and may be able to limit the sentence that you will face. Call us today for a free consultation about your Driving With a Revoked License charge.